Author: Olivier Hottois

Kids’ workshop around our “PASSAGE” exhibition: fabrics tell stories! Let’s explore them!

Have you ever wondered where the patterns that decorate the fabrics in your home or on your clothes come from? And how are their colors made? During this week’s workshop, we’ll explore the vast history of textile colors and patterns, and what they say about us and the world we live in. An opportunity, for once, to create our own colors from our environment (using dye plants from wasteland, kitchen scraps, etc.), and to reinject meaning into the images that adorn our fabrics.

The workshop will be conducted in French by Amandine Brun Sauvant, a textile designer trained at the Beaux-Arts of Clermont-Ferrand and La Cambre.

When? July 8 to 12, 2024
Who is it for? Children aged 9 to 12
Price: €90 for the workshop (€70 with Pass Cultuur Marolles)

LIMITED PLACES (max 10 children)

To register, please contact edu@mjb-jmb.org


Performance : David Bernstein – Even if it’s not true, it’s well found – 6.06 from 6pm

The title Even if it’s not true, it’s well found is a literal translation of the Italian expression Se non e vero, e ben trovato – meaning that even though a story might be made up, it is still worth telling. The work consists of a series of abstract sculptures that have had fictional stories written about them. These stories were generated from associations while looking at the artworks, and in that way, they reveal another “truth” about the object. 

Three of these sculptures are displayed within the museum with accompanying stories, told during the performance. Each sculpture is made of different materials – various kinds of wood, brass, and steel – to allow for different tactile experiences. The sculptures’ shapes are inspired by ancestral ritual instruments and modern industrial design objects. This work aims to look at the power of imagination to give different readings to the same object. It emphasizes the queerness of objects, celebrating the idea that one thing can be several things at once.


This event is part of the “Laboratory of Rituals” performance cycle.

At the heart of the Laboratory of Rituals project, four performance artists – Hilal Aydoğdu, David Bernstein, Barbara Salomé Felgenhauer et Zinaïda Tchelidze – are committed to creating new mythologies that re-en­chant the world.

In this artistic laboratory, these artists explore the depths of the collective imagination, venturing into the mean­ders of history, culture and tradition. They invite us to plunge into their artistic universes, to cross passages between the visible and invisible worlds, in order to discover new perspectives and new understandings of the world.

The Laboratory of Rituals is more than just an exhibition. It’s a space for artistic exploration, where cross-cultu­ral performers meet, question and share their worldviews. It’s a call for reflection and wonder, as well as the creation of new mythologies that revive our existence.


Program :
6:00pm – Doors open
6:30pm to 7:30pm : Performance “Even if it’s not true, it’s well found
by David Bernstein
7:30pm – Drink
8:30pm – Doors close

Price : Pay what you can (Recommended price 6€)

Passage. Textiles & Rituals is the last temporary exhibition of the Jewish Museum of Belgium. By the end of 2024, the museum will close its doors for renovation works!

It’s a new stage! Passage: Textiles & Rituals invites you to explore the idea of transformation.

Groundfloor

An immersive installation by the artist Charlemagne Palestine, titled AA BATT BEARR BARR MIZVAH INN MESHUGALAND. The main theme is the rite of passage to adulthood.

First floor

In the second part of the exhibition, you’ll witness a dialogue between ancient ritual objects and contemporary artworks: a passage between past and present in the same space! A real journey through time!

Click here for the full brochure.

The body of the artist proposes itself as a living altar, offered for a moment of reflection, meditation, prayer, and request, not for a god or saint, but for the world.  

In the Christian religion, lighting a candle opens one’s heart to God and thus raises a prayer towards him. It is also a way of expressing one’s attachment to a saint in particular by making a request or even thanking him. An offering accompanies this approach.  

Here, the ritual is proposed to allow oneself to express their concern, fear, and sorrow for the world – it is a way of reacting to the environmental despair that we are currently experiencing. 

This performance is inspired both by the artist’s rituals in a women’s circle to celebrate, among other things, the solstices and equinoxes, and Joanna Macy’s essay, “Acting with Environmental Despair” which asks the question: “Can we recognize our sorrow for the world and live with it in a way that affirms our existence and frees our power to act?”  

A year ago, the first version of this performance was presented during the Trouble Festival. In this context, more than sixty sorrows were laid at the foot of the altar. These anonymous sorrows will be engraved next to each other on one of the walls of the exhibition, during several one-off sessions between April 11 and September 1.  

 

Performance from 6:30 pm

 

Discussion between Luc Benhamou and Sonia Wieder-Atherton and musical moments 

Chantal Akerman was born in Brussels in 1950. Her parents, originally from Poland, had settled in Belgium in the 1930s. During the war, part of her family suffered deportation and were murdered in Auschwitz. The ensuing silence guided both her work as a filmmaker and her life as a woman.

Sonia Wieder-Atherton and Luc Benhamou wish to share a moment of exchange by questioning Chantal Akerman’s relationship with Judaism. Some of the possible approaches are through her work, but also through her positions on several issues, her relationship to biblical texts and to transmission. Music will also be present through the voice of Sonia Wieder-Atherton’s cello.

LUC BENHAMOU :

Born in Paris in 1959, Luc Benhamou studied cinematography at the Insas in Brussels. He subsequently worked as a cinematographer, authored short films and studied Judaism. He framed and/or lit all Chantal Akerman’s films between 1983 and 1988, among these the notables Les Années 80 (1983) L’homme à la valise (1983), Un jour Pina a demandé (1983), J’ai faim, j’ai froid (1984), Family Business (1984), Golden eighties (1984), Letters Home (1986), Histoires d’Amérique (1988).

SONIA WIEDER-ATHERTON :

Cellist Sonia Wieder-Atherton studied at the Paris Conservatoire, then went on studying further with Natalia Chakhovskaya at the Tchaikovsky Conservatoire in Moscow. She returned home at the age of 25, where she met Chantal Akerman. Their work and personal relation were set to last forever.  Their worlds came together in film scores and stage creations. Chantal Akerman also directed several films with SWA, who performed works ranging from Monteverdi to Dutilleux. Their collaboration on the music for “Histoires d’Amérique” gave rise to a recording of liturgical Jewish chants for cello and piano. 

Program:

6 pm doors open

6:30 pm start of discussion (approx. 1h30)

8 p.m. end (no drinks)

Credit: Collections CINEMATEK – © Fondation Chantal Akerman

Celebrate Pesach with us!

We’re delighted to invite you to a one-day Pesach celebration on April 14 at 3pm.
Pesach, also known as Passover, is one of Judaism’s three pilgrimage holidays, commemorating the exodus of the Hebrews from slavery in Egypt according to the Torah’s Book of Exodus. The holiday evokes the notion of renewal, of freedom, and is honored through several rituals, including the consumption of unleavened bread (matza) and the celebration of the Passover meal.

Program :

Matzot-making workshop for children: Our young participants will have the opportunity to take part in a Matza bread-making workshop. They’ll have the opportunity to discover the importance of this ancestral tradition by getting their hands dirty.

Guided tour of the “Passage – Textiles & Ritual” exhibition: We also invite you to a guided tour of our “Passage – Textiles & Ritual” exhibition, a fascinating exploration of Jewish textiles and rituals.

This event is organized in collaboration with the European Jewish Community Centre (EJCC).

As part of NOCTURNES, the third “Passage” tour will open on April 11 in our Project Space, inviting you to explore the contemporary resurgence of beliefs and rituals through a program of unique performances.

In Turkish culture, when you welcome someone, you give them your bed, your home. Misafirperverlik means «hospitality » in Turkish. The term has Arabic roots: «musafir», «safar», which also means «hunger» and «he or she who goes on an expedition, who goes far away». And Persian roots: «parvar», meaning «to feed, to bring up, to educate». Misafirperver therefore means «he or she
who feeds his or her guest».

The performance is two-fold: «the preparation» and «the meal».
Duration: 2 h00.


Hilal Aydoğdu (1998, Liège), holds a Master’s degree in drawing from the Académie des Beaux-Arts de Liège and has practiced performance art for several years, in depth at La Cambre.


Hilal questions the place of women in a man’s world. She proposes to apprehend the devices that work to establish a deleterious hegemony – that of patriarchy – mainly through culture, by exploring the morbid lexicon of the values and injunctions it conveys: honor, virginity, obedience. Performance and installation allow her words to take shape; by breaking the boundaries between the object and
its flesh, by playing with what can be forced together, she attempts to suggest imbalance, to let the union give rise to vertigo, and vertigo to fall.


She aims to confront the order that strikes in the name of ideals that damage women with the consequences of its reign, reflecting back to it the horror and pain they generate.


Program :

  • guided tour of the “Passage” exhibition at 6pm (FR)
  • guided tour of the “Passage” exhibition at 6:30pm (NL)
  • Performance Misafirperver by Hilal Aydoğdu from 6 pm to 8 pm (FR,NL,EN)

    For bookings –> via the Nocturnes website (ticket sales open on March 25)

This spring, the Jewish Museum of Belgium is delighted to present an exhibition from the Center for Jewish-Moroccan Culture (CCJM) titled “Tanger. Ville mythique” (Mythical Tangier).

Through a vast array of archives and artworks from the collection of the Center for Judeo-Moroccan Culture, visitors are invited on a journey through time and space to discover this city with a thousand faces.

As a bridge between Africa and Europe, a western beacon in the Mediterranean, Tangier has always held a special place in the history of the Kingdom of Morocco. Its strategic location has made it a coveted area since antiquity by major empires and conquerors, with successive invasions shaping its customs and traditions. These influences are still evident in its craftsmanship, a cultural richness perceptible in both its costume art and local jewelry. The coexistence of different societies and religions – Muslims, Jews, and Europeans – makes it a cosmopolitan and unique space in Morocco, oriented towards Europe. Between land, sea, and ocean, the “Pearl of the North” offers inspiring landscapes that attract artists: painters, photographers, and filmmakers come to soak up its unique atmosphere. But Tangier is also active on the political and diplomatic stage, the scene of several major events in the history of North Africa over the centuries, as the exhibition’s journey portrays.

At the heart of the Laboratory of Rituals project, four performance artists – Hilal Aydoğdu, David Bernstein, Barbara Salomé Felgenhauer et Zinaïda Tchelidze – are committed to creating new mythologies that re-en­chant the world.

In this artistic laboratory, these artists explore the depths of the collective imagination, venturing into the mean­ders of history, culture and tradition. They invite us to plunge into their artistic universes, to cross passages between the visible and invisible worlds, in order to discover new perspectives and new understandings of the world.

Through their performances, these artists offer us intense moments where the sacred and the profane meet, where emotions blossom and questions multiply. They open doors to sensory and intellectual experiences, inviting us to reflect on our own relationship with beliefs, myths and rituals.

The Laboratory of Rituals is more than just an exhibition. It’s a space for artistic exploration, where cross-cultu­ral performers meet, question and share their worldviews. It’s a call for reflection and wonder, as well as the creation of new mythologies that revive our existence.

The Laboratory of Rituals will open on April 11 in our Project Space and invites you to explore the contemporary resurgence of beliefs and rites through a program of unique performances. The first performance will take place as part of the Nocturnes event.


Program :

MisafirperverHilal Aydoğdu – 11.04.2024

La Chapelle des peines pour le mondeBarbara Salomé Felgenhauer – 22.05.2024

Even if it’s not true, it’s well foundDavid Bernstein – 6.06.2024

To your arrival and our welcomeZinaïda Tchelidze – 1.09.2024

The last exhibition of the Jewish Museum of Belgium before closing for construction works in late 2024, Passage reflects on the idea of transformation. It explores how the spiritual blends with the profane life, how the rite combines with the ordinary, and what happens when the collective and the intimate tie together.  

The exhibition consists of three complementary paths. The first immerses us in the universe of Charlemagne Palestine. In an installation entitled «AA BATT BEARR BARR MITZVAHH INN MESHUGAHLANDDD», the artist reinterprets the transition to adulthood in the Jewish tradition. In the tradition of schmattès, the Yiddish word for rags or second-hand clothes, he reinvents the gestures of collecting, sewing, and mending the fabric that mark the history of the Jewish worlds.

Echoing the fabric assemblages of Charlemagne Palestine, the second route proposes a dialogue around textiles, by crossing the collections of the Jewish Museum of Belgium, those of the Center of Judeo-Moroccan Culture, and the interventions of four contemporary artists: Jennifer Bornstein, Richard Moszkowicz, Elise Peroi, Arlette Vermeiren. This game of free-spirited associations reminds us that textile work is, in itself, a ritual practice and that women occupy a central place in it. It also shows that fabrics are never a mere adornment: alternately, they are places of memory, symbols of celebration, or accessions to the sacred.  

Through a performances program, the third path questions the contemporary resurgence of beliefs and rites. Hilal Aydoğdu, David Bernstein, Barbara Salomé Felgenhauer, and Zinaïda Tchelidze rethink the museum space to create an intimate and sensory laboratory, conducive to reflection and exchange.

A symbolic gesture, Passage is not only the end point of an exhibition program that has been running in this building for over twenty years. This exhibition questions the future Jewish Museum, which will also imagine new forms of passages.

Auteur/autrice : Olivier Hottois

STAGE pour enfants liés à notre exposition « PASSAGE » : les tissus racontent des histoires ! Explorons-les !

T’es-tu déjà demandé d’où venaient les motifs qui décorent les tissus de ta maison, de tes vêtements ? Et leurs couleurs, comment sont-elles fabriquées ? Durant cette semaine de stage, nous explorerons la vaste Histoire des couleurs et des motifs textiles, ce qu’ils disent de nous et du monde dans lequel nous vivons. Une occasion, pour une fois, de créer nous-mêmes nos couleurs à partir de notre environnement (à l’aide de plantes tinctoriales issues de friches, de déchêts de cuisine, etc.), et de réinsuffler du sens dans les images qui habillent nos tissus.

Le stage sera animé par Amandine Brun Sauvant, designer textile formée aux Beaux-Arts de Clermont-Ferrand et à La Cambre.

Quand ? Date du stage : 8 au 12 juillet 2024

Pour qui ? Enfants de 9 à 12 ans

Tarif : 90€ la semaine de stage (70€ avec le Pass Cultuur Marolles)

PLACES LIMITEES (max 10 enfants)

Pour s’inscrire veuillez contacter edu@mjb-jmb.org


Dernière exposition du Musée Juif de Belgique avant la fermeture pour travaux fin 2024, Passage est une réflexion sur l’idée de transformation. Elle explore la manière dont le spirituel se mêle à la vie profane, comment le rite s’allie à l’ordinaire, ce qu’il se passe quand l’intime et le collectif se nouent.

L’exposition se compose de trois parcours complémentaires. Le premier nous plonge dans l’univers de Charlemagne Palestine. Dans une installation intitulée « AA BATT BEARR BARR MITZVAHH INN MESHUGAHLANDDD », l’artiste réinterprète le passage à l’âge adulte dans la tradition juive. Ancré dans l’héritage du schmattès, mot yiddish qui désigne le chiffon ou la fripe, il réinvente les gestes de collecte, de couture et de raccommodage du tissu qui marquent l’histoire des mondes juifs.

En écho aux assemblages de Charlemagne Palestine, le deuxième parcours propose un dialogue autour du textile, en croisant les collections du Musée Juif de Belgique, celles du Centre de la Culture Judéo-Marocaine et les interventions de quatre artistes contemporains : Jennifer Bornstein, Richard Moszkowicz, Elise Peroi, Arlette Vermeiren. Ce jeu d’associations libres rappelle que le travail du textile est, en soi, une pratique rituelle. La place des femmes y est centrale. Il montre aussi que les tissus ne sont jamais de simples parures : ils sont tour à tour des lieux de mémoire, les symboles d’une célébration, ou des accès au sacré.

À travers un programme de performances, le troisième parcours interroge la résurgence contemporaine des croyances et des rites. Hilal Aydoğdu, David Bernstein, Barbara Salomé Felgenhauer, et Zinaïda Tchelidze repensent ici l’espace muséal, pour créer un laboratoire intime et sensoriel, dans une tentative de réenchantement du monde.

Geste symbolique, Passage n’est pas seulement le point final d’un programme d’expositions déployé dans ce bâtiment depuis plus de vingt ans. Cette exposition est aussi un questionnement sur le nouveau Musée Juif à venir, qui imaginera, lui aussi, de nouvelles formes de passage.

Performance : David Bernstein – Even if it’s not true, it’s well found – 6.06 à partir de 18h00

Le titre Even if it’s not true, it’s well found est une traduction littérale de l’expression italienne Se non e vero, e ben trovato, qui signifie que bien qu’une histoire ait été inventée, elle vaut quand même la peine d’être racontée. L’œuvre consiste en une série de sculptures abstraites à partir desquelles ont été créés des histoires fictives. Ces histoires ont été générées à partir de pensées survenues lors de l’observation des œuvres d’art et révèlent ainsi une autre « vérité » pour l’objet. 

Dans le musée sont présentées trois de ces sculptures, qui seront activées par des histoires racontées lors de la performance. Chaque sculpture se compose de matériaux différents – divers types de bois, laiton et acier – afin de permettre des expériences tactiles variées. Les formes des scultpures s’inspirent d’instruments rituels ancestraux et d’objets de design industriel moderne.

L’objectif de ce travail est d’examiner le pouvoir de l’imagination pour donner différentes lectures d’un même objet. Il met l’accent sur le caractère queer des objets, célébrant l’idée qu’une chose peut être plusieurs choses à la fois.  

***

Cette performance s’inscrit dans le cycle de performances « Laboratoire des Rituels« .

Au cœur du « Laboratoire des Rituels », quatre artistes performeurs, Hilal Aydoğdu, David Bernstein, Barbara Salomé Felgenhauer et Zinaïda Tchelidze, s’engagent à réenchanter le monde à travers la construction de nouvelles mythologies qui les touchent et les inspirent.

Dans ce laboratoire artistique, ces artistes explorent les profondeurs de l’imaginaire collectif, s’aventurant dans les recoins de l’histoire, de la culture et des traditions. Ils nous invitent à plonger dans leurs univers artistiques, à traverser des passages entre les mondes visibles et invisibles, pour découvrir de nouvelles manières d’être et de comprendre le monde.

Le « Laboratoire des Rituels » est bien plus qu’une simple exposition. C’est un espace d’exploration artistique où des artistes performeurs interculturels se rencontrent, se questionnent et partagent leurs visions du monde. C’est un appel à la réflexion, à l’émerveillement et à la création de nouvelles mythologies qui nous permettent de réenchanter notre existence.

***

Programme :

18:00 – Ouverture des portes

18:30 19:30 : Performance de David Bernstein : Even if it’s not true, it’s well found

19:30 : Drink

20:30 : Fermeture des portes

Prix Libre (Prix conseillé 6€)

Passage. Textiles & Rituals est la dernière exposition temporaire du Musée Juif de Belgique. Fin 2024, il fermera ses portes pour rénovation !

C’est une nouvelle étape ! Passage : Textiles & Rituals invite à explorer l‘idée de transformation.

Au rez-de-chaussée

L’installation immersive de l’artiste Charlemagne Palestine, appelée AA BATT BEARR BARR MIZVAH INN MESHUGALAND, dont le thème principal est un rite de passage à l’âge adulte.

Premier étage

Dans cette deuxième partie de l’exposition, vous assisterez à un dialogue autour du textile entre des objets rituels anciens et des œuvres d’art contemporaines : un passage entre le passé et le présent dans les mêmes espaces ! Un vrai voyage dans le temps !

Retrouvez l’intégralité de la brochure explicative en cliquant ici.

Le corps de l’artiste se propose comme un autel vivant, offert pour un moment de réflexion, de méditation, de prière, de demande, non pas à destination d’un dieu ou de saint·e·s, mais pour le monde. 

Dans la religion chrétienne, allumer une bougie revient à ouvrir son cœur à Dieu et ainsi faire monter une prière vers lui. C’est aussi le moyen d’exprimer son attachement à un·e saint·e en particulier, de lui adresser une demande ou encore des remerciements. Une offrande accompagne cette démarche. 

Ici, le rituel est proposé afin de s’autoriser à exprimer son inquiétude, sa peur, ses peines pour le monde, c’est une façon de réagir au désespoir environnemental que nous vivons actuellement. 

Cette performance est inspirée à la fois des rituels de l’artiste en cercle de femmes pour célébrer entre autres les solstices et équinoxes, et de l’essai de Joanna Macy, “Agir avec le désespoir environnemental” qui pose la question : « Pouvons-nous reconnaître notre peine pour le monde et vivre avec elle d’une manière qui affirme notre existence et libère notre pouvoir d’agir ? ». 

Il y a un an, une première version de cette performance a été présentée pendant le festival Trouble. Dans ce cadre, plus de soixante peines ont été déposées au pied du corps-autel. Ces peines anonymes seront gravées les unes à côté des autres sur un des murs de l’exposition, lors de plusieurs sessions ponctuelles entre le 11 avril et le 1 septembre. 

Performance à partir de 18h30

 

Discussion entre Luc Benhamou et Sonia Wieder-Atherton et moments musicaux 

Le Musée Juif de Belgique organise le 29 mai 2024 une conférence intitulée « Chantal Hanna Akerman – Regards croisés sur l’identité juive d’une cinéaste« .

Chantal Hanna Akerman, née à Bruxelles en 1950, dans une famille d’origine polonaise, est une cinéaste dont l’empreinte artistique est indélébile dans le paysage cinématographique belge et international. Les séquelles de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, marquées par la déportation et l’assassinat d’une partie de sa famille à Auschwitz, influenceront profondément son œuvre cinématographique et son parcours de femme.

Sonia Wieder-Atherton et Luc Benhamou vous invitent à une réflexion approfondie sur le lien entre Chantal Akerman et le judaïsme. Ils exploreront les diverses facettes de cette connexion, des prises de position de la réalisatrice à son rapport aux textes bibliques et à la transmission. La musique, incarnée par le violoncelle de Sonia Wieder-Atherton, sera également au cœur de cette discussion.

LUC BENHAMOU :

Luc Benhamou naît en 1959 à Paris et étudie la cinématographie à l’Insas à Bruxelles. Il travaille par la suite comme directeur de la photographie, réalise des courts-métrages et étudie le judaïsme. Il a cadré et/ou éclairé tous les films de Chantal Akerman entre 1983 et 1988 dont : Les Années 80 (1983) L’homme à la valise (1983), Un jour Pina a demandé (1983), J’ai faim, j’ai froid (1984), Family Business (1984), Golden eighties (1984), Letters Home (1986), Histoires d’Amérique (1988).

SONIA WIEDER-ATHERTON :

Sonia Wieder-Atherton, violoncelliste, a étudié au Conservatoire de Paris, puis elle part poursuivre ses études avec Natalia Chakhovskaya au Conservatoire Tchaïkovski de Moscou. Elle rentre en France à 25 ans, et fait la connaissance de Chantal Akerman. Leur relation dans la vie comme dans le travail durera toujours. Leur univers se retrouvent à travers des musiques de films et des créations scéniques. Chantal Akerman réalise également plusieurs films avec SWA, qui interprète  des œuvres allant de Monteverdi à Dutilleux. Leur collaboration pour la musique de « Histoires d’Amérique » donne naissance à l’enregistrement des chants juifs liturgiques pour violoncelle et piano. 

Programme: 

18h ouverture des portes

18h30 début de la discussion

20h fin de la discussion

Crédit : Collections CINEMATEK – © Fondation Chantal Akerman

Dans le cadre de NOCTURNES, le troisième parcours de « Passage » ouvrira le 11 avril dans notre Project Space et vous invitera à explorer la résurgence contemporaine des croyances et des rituels à travers un programme de performances uniques.

Dans la culture turque, lorsqu’on accueille une personne, on lui cède son lit, sa maison. Misafirperverlik signifie « hospitalité » en turc. Le terme a des racines arabes : « musafir », « safar », qui signifie aussi « faim » et « celui ou celle qui part en expédition, qui va loin ». Et des racines persanes : « parvar » qui signifie « nourrir, élever, éduquer ». Misafirperver signifie donc « celui ou celle qui nourrit son invité·e ».
La performance est constituée de deux parties : « la préparation » et « le repas ».


Durée de la performance : 2 h00.


Hilal Aydoğdu (1998, Liège), diplômée du Master dessin de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Liège, a depuis plusieurs années une pratique de la performance, approfondie à La Cambre.

Hilal interroge la place de la femme au sein d’un monde d’hommes. Elle propose d’investir les dispositifs qui oeuvrent à asseoir une hégémonie délétère – celle du patriarcat – principalement à travers la culture, en explorant le lexique morbide des valeurs et des injonctions qu’elle véhicule : honneur, virginité, obéissance.

La performance et l’installation autorisent sa parole à prendre corps ; en rompant les frontières entre l’objet et sa chair, en faisant jeu de ce qu’on peut forcer à s’assembler, elle tente de susciter le déséquilibre, de laisser naître de l’union un vertige et du vertige, la chute.

Elle veut confronter l’ordre qui frappe au nom d’idéaux qui abîment les femmes aux conséquences de son règne, en lui renvoyant l’horreur et la douleur qu’il génère.


Programme :

  • visite guidée de l’exposition « Passage » à 18h (FR)
  • visite guidée de l’exposition « Passage » à 18h30 (NL)
  • Performance Misafirperver par Hilal Aydoğdu de 18h à 20h (FR,NL,EN)

Pour les réservations –> via le site web des Nocturnes (ouverture de la vente des billets le 25 mars)

Ce printemps, le Musée Juif de Belgique et Paul Dahan du Centre de la Culture Judéo-Marocaine (CCJM) sont ravis de vous présenter l’exposition «Tanger. Ville mythique».

À travers une collection diversifiée d’archives et d’œuvres d’art du CCJM, les visiteurs sont conviés à un voyage captivant à travers le temps et l’espace pour explorer la vibrante ville de Tanger, renommée pour sa riche histoire et sa diversité culturelle.

Passerelle entre l’Afrique et l’Europe, phare occidental de la Méditerranée, Tanger a toujours occupé une place à part dans l’histoire du royaume du Maroc. Son emplacement stratégique en fait un lieu convoité depuis l’Antiquité par les grands empires et conquérants, invasions successives qui ont façonné ses coutumes et traditions. On décèle d’ailleurs dans son artisanat les réminiscences de ces influences, richesse culturelle perceptible autant dans son art du costume que dans sa bijouterie locale. La cohabitation de différentes sociétés et religions en son sein – Musulmans, Juifs et Européens – en fait un espace cosmopolite et unique au Maroc, tourné vers l’Europe. Entre terre, mer et océan, celle qu’on surnomme « la Perle du Nord » offre des paysages inspirants qui attirent les artistes : peintres, photographes ou cinéastes venus s’imprégner de son atmosphère unique. Mais Tanger est aussi active sur le plan politique et diplomatique, théâtre de plusieurs évènements majeurs de l’histoire de l’Afrique du Nord à travers les siècles, que le parcours de l’exposition restitue.

Célébrez Pessa’h avec nous !

Nous sommes heureux de vous inviter à une journée de célébration de Pessa’h le 14 avril à 15h.
Pessa’h, également connue sous le nom de Pâque juive, est l’une des trois fêtes de pèlerinage du judaïsme, commémorant l’exode des Hébreux de l’esclavage en Égypte selon le livre de l’Exode de la Torah. La fête évoque la notion de renouveau, de liberté et elle est honorée à travers plusieurs rituels, notamment la consommation de pain non levé (matza) et la célébration du repas de Pâque.

Programme :

Atelier de confection de Matzot pour les enfants : Nos jeunes participants auront l’occasion de participer à un atelier de fabrication de pain Matza. Ils auront ainsi l’opportunité de découvrir l’importance de cette tradition ancestrale en mettant la main à la pâte.

Visite guidée de l’exposition « Passage – Textiles & Rituel » : Nous vous invitons également à une visite guidée de notre exposition « Passage – Textiles & Rituel », une exploration fascinante des textiles et rituels juifs.

Cet évènement est organisé en collaboration avec l’European Jewish Community Centre (EJCC).

Au cœur du « Laboratoire des Rituels », quatre artistes performeurs, Hilal Aydoğdu, David Bernstein, Barbara Salomé Felgenhauer et Zinaïda Tchelidze, s’engagent à réenchanter le monde à travers la construction de nouvelles mythologies qui les touchent et les inspirent.

Dans ce laboratoire artistique, ces artistes explorent les profondeurs de l’imaginaire collectif, s’aventurant dans les recoins de l’histoire, de la culture et des traditions. Ils nous invitent à plonger dans leurs univers artistiques, à traverser des passages entre les mondes visibles et invisibles, pour découvrir de nouvelles manières d’être et de comprendre le monde.

Grâce à leurs performances, ces artistes nous offrent des moments intenses où le sacré et le profane se rencontrent, où les émotions se déploient et les questionnements se multiplient. Ils nous ouvrent des portes vers des expériences sensorielles et intellectuelles, nous invitant à réfléchir sur notre propre rapport aux croyances, aux mythes et aux rites.

Le « Laboratoire des Rituels » est bien plus qu’une simple exposition. C’est un espace d’exploration artistique où des artistes performeurs interculturels se rencontrent, se questionnent et partagent leurs visions du monde. C’est un appel à la réflexion, à l’émerveillement et à la création de nouvelles mythologies qui nous permettent de réenchanter notre existence.

Le « Laboratoire des Rituels » ouvrira le 11 avril dans notre Project Space et vous invite à explorer la résurgence contemporaine des croyances et des rites à travers un programme de performances uniques. La première performance aura lieu dans le cadre de l’évènement des Nocturnes.


Programme :

MisafirperverHilal Aydoğdu – 11.04.2024

La Chapelle des peines pour le mondeBarbara Salomé Felgenhauer – 22.05.2024

Even if it’s not true, it’s well found David Bernstein – 6.06.2024

To your arrival and our welcomeZinaïda Tchelidze – 1.09.2024